Ultimate TechnoGraphics Inc.

300 Leo Pariseau Suite 2120, H2X 4B3 Montreal, QC
Canada

Location

  •   Hall 8b / C06

Contact

Julie Watson

CEO

Raymond Duval

Director, Solutions Sales

Eve Petroni

Marketing Specialist

Roberto Marroquin

Director, Software Development

Our range of products

Product categories

  • 01  prepress / print
  • 01.01  Publishing software
  • 01.01.025  Layout software
  • 01  prepress / print
  • 01.01  Publishing software
  • 01.01.070  XML, SGML based software
  • 01  prepress / print
  • 01.02  Workflow and data handling software
  • 01.02.050  CIP4 applications
  • 01  prepress / print
  • 01.02  Workflow and data handling software
  • 01.02.065  JDF applications
  • 01  prepress / print
  • 01.02  Workflow and data handling software
  • 01.02.070  PDF software
  • 01  prepress / print
  • 01.04  Software for packaging prepress
  • 01.04.010  Software for production preparation

Software for production preparation

  • 03  post press / converting / packaging
  • 03.03  finishing
  • 03.03.015  Bar code software and scanners
  • 03  post press / converting / packaging
  • 03.03  finishing
  • 03.03.030  Bar code systems
  • 04  future technologies
  • 04.04  Industry 4.0
  • 04.04.020  Automation solutions

Our products

Product category: Layout software, XML, SGML based software, JDF applications, PDF software, Software for production preparation, Bar code software and scanners, Bar code systems, Automation solutions

Ultimate Impostrip® - Imposition Automation Solution

Imposition software automation at Ultimate means lights out, hands free, true reliable automation. If you are considering a digital print environment, a web-to-print business, increase in profitability, and if you simply want to do more with the same resources, automation is the answer. With the increasing demand for shorter runs and quicker turnaround times, you have to think differently about imposition and finishing, automation drives results.  Take a look at our different Ultimate Impostrip® packages.

Ultimate Impostrip® Pro
Regardless if you are a prepress pro or just starting in printing, Ultimate Impostrip® Pro eases you into the world of optimized imposition. It provides you with the professional features to manage an imposition workflow, to take advantage of all your print equipment capabilities. Get full control over page position, bleeds, page-spread, page scaling, marks and margins for best quality. Also available: Ultimate Impostrip® Pro Offset and Ultimate Impostrip® Pro Nesting

Ultimate Impostrip® Automation
Designed with productivity in mind, Ultimate Impostrip® Automation optimizes every aspect of your prepress imposition workflow with tools that are easy-to-use yet extremely versatile. In very little time, you can set up a link to your MIS, your online photo editing system or web ordering system. Perfect for very short turnaround delivery on marketing campaigns, transactional and short run of books.

Ultimate Impostrip® Scalable
Ultimate Impostrip® Scalable is designed at resolving the growing bottleneck in imposition due to increasing job sizes and the increasing number of short runs that must be printed in a very quick turnaround time. Workflow requirements seeking for speed will always point to Ultimate Impostrip® Scalable.

Ultimate Impostrip® PassGate
Ultimate Impostrip® PassGate automates your photo print production on your digital press and finishing equipment and lets you reduce waste considerably. It translates information gathered from upstream components and uses production logic to generate batch tickets with all the asset references and information required and creates print-ready files on the fly.

More Less

Product category: XML, SGML based software, CIP4 applications, JDF applications, Bar code software and scanners, Bar code systems, Automation solutions

Ultimate Bindery® - Finishing Automation Solution

Ultimate Bindery® is a standalone software solution designed to fill the gap between prepress and finishing. Ultimate Bindery® can take any JDF imposed job and complete it with all the necessary parameters needed to automatically set up your finishing equipment such as perfect binder, saddle-stitcher, cutter, slitter-creaser, 3-knife cutter, etc. It allows to produce variable length products in different quantities, on the fly with no manual make-ready.

Ultimate Bindery® is a hub of knowledge of many different finishing devices from different manufacturers and can automate in-line and near-line finishing equipment. It operates as a central location to validate that each job is built respecting the capabilities and constraints of the selected finishing equipment. These validations prevent errors and reduce waste since an alert is sent to the user for them to rectify the situation.

More Less

Company news

Date

Topic

Download

May 29, 2020

Ultimate TechnoGraphics Helps Cober produce 1000-1200 orders a day

Cober and Ultimate TechnoGraphics have together substantially increased production productivity over thousands of short run jobs. Cober is a 103-year-old, 4th generation, family owned business. Since 1916, Cober has grown to become one of the most highly regarded and versatile suppliers of print communications and web-based marketing.

CHALLENGES
Back in 2014, Cober’s business was so good than it was becoming a victim of its own success. ‘’Cober’s digital print business was growing rapidly.’’, says Erwin Driever, VP Technology at Cober.’’As a result, we faced a number of challenges with these new opportunities, particularly where the volume of short-run orders placed and produced was increasing dramatically. Using the more traditional finishing methods of a commercial printer to produce these orders became a major bottleneck in our finishing area, negatively affecting our production processes, delivery times and customer satisfaction.’’

The increase of the volume for short-runs order destabilized Cober’s entire operations, at a point where Cober had no other choice than automating as many of the post-press functionality as possible, such as cutting, to achieve even greater efficiencies.

FIRST PHASE OF AUTOMATION: ULTIMATE IMPOSTRIP®
Cober’s plan was to automate its workflow including functionality for ganging or batching orders by like attributes such as size, substrate and quantity and creating imposed layouts that would ultimately be printed as a collated stack and then finished by cutting on a traditional guillotine. This solution required an imposition application that would provide autonomous functionality.

At that time, Cober was closely working with Ultimate TechnoGraphics on a trial/test of Ultimate Impostrip® to automate the imposition and submission of batched order layouts to press. ‘’We did initial testing of the application integrated with our automation workflow and then did “live” order testing during a peak production period, of a limited number of SKUs.’’, confirms Erwin Driever. ‘’Ultimate Impostrip® worked spectacularly creating large imposition files of orders for cut and stack production. It provided us with a stable, efficient, predictable and autonomous tool for automating imposition layouts and files submitted for digital print production. Shortly after the trials we invested in Ultimate Impostrip® and use it for 80% of our automated impositions.’’

SECOND PHASE OF AUTOMATION: HORIZON’S SMARTSTACKER
Following the peak production period, Cober order volume continued to increase, however due to the great diversity of attributes for incoming orders, the timely batching, production and finishing of these orders was still adversely affected. Finishing became a larger bottleneck as Cober’s team struggled to cut many lifts/stacks of small order batches. They needed to find a solution that could handle the automated cutting of many small orders, and began to take a deeper look into Horizon’s SmartStacker product.

‘’We had been introduced to the SmartStacker and after some review testing, we were confident it could provide a game changing finishing solution for us. Our confidence was bolstered by our great experience with some other Horizon products. We were especially pleased to learn that Ultimate Impostrip® was an integral part of the solution.’’, add Erwin Driever. As they had been using Ultimate Impostrip®, it was a relatively easy transition to modify their existing imposition plans to create the required layouts and JDFs for the Indigo Presses and ultimately for SmartStacker.

RESULTS
Today, Cober remembers how Ultimate TechnoGraphics has been a great help in stressful times:‘’ Our overall user experience with Ultimate Impostrip® and Ultimate TechnoGraphics has been nothing but positive. Using Ultimate Impostrip® for imposition automation has been so successful for us that we continue to add new products and SKUs to our automation streams and inject more traditional orders using Hot Folder flows, eliminating the use of other “Prepress” imposition tools and manual interaction with orders. It has allowed us to grow our business, finishing hundreds of orders daily, that otherwise would not be possible. The Ultimate team has been great to work with and their support has been outstanding, for us.’’

From its three facilities Cober provides in-house design and marketing, lithographic production, large and small format digital production, grand format production, in-house bindery, mailing, warehousing and fulfillment and distribution. With the support of Ultimate, Horizon, Standard and HP Indigo [Direct-to-Finish powered by Ultimate Bindery®], Cober produce an average 1000-1200 orders a day, automated from receipt of order through to shipping.

 

More Less

May 12, 2020

Ironmark Streamline Book-of-One Production with Ultimate Impostrip®

Discover how Ironmark was able to go from disposing unsold books from a large print run, to producing book-of-one and books on demand as needed, in a completely streamlined and automated workflow thanks to Ultimate Impostrip® imposition software solution and their Ricoh IP5000 Continuous Feed Inkjet Printer. Garner Leidy, VP Prepress at Ironmark, shares their experience:

”Ironmark is a company that’s been around since 1985 in one way or another and under Ironmark for about 8 years. We are a marketing company, printing company, and do design and web services.

At the time, we owned a large book company in Baltimore. And that book company was printing thousands of copies of books on a web, warehousing it, try to sell the same book a couple times a year. By buying that press and buying the Impostrip® software, we were able to get closer to that book-of-one, doing it in a way that didn’t require hundreds of plates and a giant web press. That device solved that problem and took those books that could be done that way and part of that book of work into that digital realm.

Prior to Impostrip® we were using pretty rudimentary imposition software, that was a lot of hand work. Impostrip® allows you to do very efficient imposition, streamlined to the point where it takes less than a minute for a large project. One of our largest project is the neighborhood of 2000 pages. Printing it out on the Ricoh, using the Impostrip® software, it takes no time at all to get it on to that press, into that device, ready for production. Most people would probably think that I was exagerating, but the speed of that is really outstanding. I always remark on how efficient this software is.

And we’ve recently started to experiment with some of the variable workflows that are available in Impostrip®. We can tell that it needs to be on that side of sheet, and the size of the page can vary, depending on what comes in. We don’t have to worry about all those different variables. You can just build-in what your head and foot is gonna be in your phase and it sizes out automatically.

That whole process bypasses the customer service as well as prepress. The work orders are generated next to the presses, so nothing needs to be carried out. It is completely touch-free from the client’s hands to the pressman. There are barcodes and book marks that are all built-in the Impostrip® software that is readable by the Tecnau which is inline with the Ricoh. And those marks are the instructions for the offline bindery for that book. It wouldn’t be possible without that.

This biggest strength of course is time. Trying to get things out quicker, every time. And I think this company more than any other competitive outlet is always looking to find that next edge, to try to find that way to makes things go through easier with less mistakes and less effort.”

###

About Ironmark
We’re dedicated to maintaining and improving the images of our clients through a range of support services, from full-service print production to creative marketing support to web-based/web-enabled technologies. We are in business to provide our clients with a rock-solid partnership that leads to creative, effective results. We’re nimble, fast, and focused because we know that our customers want and deserve just one thing: great outcomes. We are committed to staying on the leading edge of our changing industry and solidifying our position as the Mid-Atlantic’s first choice for integrated print, marketing, and communications services.

More Less

Apr 21, 2020

White Paper: Future-Proof your Print Business - Part 1

The market and technologically driven changes in communications and information distribution have placed new demands on print, publishing and packaging service providers, and will continue to for the foreseeable future. These demands include cost and turn-time pressures, new horizontal and vertical integration requirements, and a host of new required services, all of which affect the product mix companies must deliver to remain profitable. More importantly they also affect the tools and processes required to support those changes. Unfortunately, many service providers have not made the necessary internal changes to adapt. However, there are solutions that can be implemented to ensure future-proof print business growth.

Written by industry expert David Zwang, this White Paper uncovers how you can grow margins and expand your product and services portfolio by implementing a long-term strategy to capture your share of the developing and changing markets. Reading this study-based report will give you the tools to differentiate efficient and inefficient solutions to ultimately get the most of your investments now and for years to come, plus:

Grow margins;
Expand your product and services portfolio
Implement a long-term strategy
Capture your share of the developing and changing markets.
In Part 1 of this white paper, we look at how the market and technologically driven changes in communications and information distribution have placed new demands on print, publishing and packaging service providers, and will continue to for the foreseeable future.

“This whitepaper project started prior to the pandemic, but it seems that the current world situation has made this whitepaper even more relevant, says Julie Watson CEO of Ultimate TechnoGraphics. The current economic situation is accelerating digital transformation in many industries, and this paper addresses exactly how print services providers can enhance their productivity with digital tools.”

More Less

Apr 9, 2020

Ultimate TechnoGraphics Puts ProList Ahead of the Competition

ProList was founded in 1989 as a database management company located in Frederick, MD, USA. Over the years, their offerings expanded into a variety of production services including personalization and imaging, mail processing and premium fulfillment. Today, ProList has grown to become a fully integrated marketing service provider, offering highly customized products in a complete automated workflow. Read how Ultimate TechnoGraphics has opened the door to successful workflow automation to this highly-regarded east-coast printer.

FIRST PHASE: IMPOSITION AUTOMATION
Originally not a traditional printer, the management team at ProList decided to invest in the Konica Minolta AccurioJet KM-1 Inkjet Press which combines the speed and flexibility of offset presses with the digital benefits of variable data printing and zero make-ready. ProList has been driven into this world with an increasing number of short-runs and variable content orders that came in from direct marketing agencies, cultural institutions, higher education marketers and small businesses, sports marketers created a painful bottleneck on the print floor, making impossible to continue the way they were. They needed to quickly find a solution to their challenges, and the KM-1 met those needs. To support this new powerful piece of equipment, ProList needed true imposition software. The team at Konica Minolta immediately suggested Ultimate Impostrip® to automatically generate the imposition and feed the press in a just-in-time manner:

‘’When we acquired the KM-1, we needed a more comprehensive and robust solution that would also make it easier to quickly impose any size piece and maximize the number of copies we could get on a sheet’’, says Dave Lokos, President & CEO of ProList. ‘’The power combined with the ease of use of Ultimate Impostrip® made it clearly the best fit for all our needs.’’

Previously doing simple impositions using their document composition software, ProList discovered the endless possibilities of control over marks such as bleed and crop mark that Ultimate Impostrip® offered them. But the main value they see in Ultimate Impostrip® lies in the time and cost savings aspects of it: ‘’Ultimate Impostrip® allows us to pre-set our impositions using hot folders so we are able to standardize the sizes coming from our Data Processing department making for quick and easy impositions.’’, continues Dave Lokos.

 SECOND PHASE: FINISHING AUTOMATION
A new 45’’ guillotine cutter was also bought to handle the large sheet size of the KM-1 (23’’x29’’). In order to use its full potential, the team at ProList needed to find a way to automatically provide the cutter with the prepress data. They reached out to Konica Minolta for an answer whom highly recommended Ultimate Impostrip® in combination with Ultimate Bindery®. Ultimate TechnoGraphics’ finishing automation solution works seamlessly with the cutter by auto generating the PDF/JDF combo. ‘’It works so well in fact that it requires no interaction and is fully automated.’’, adds Dave Lokos. Ultimate Bindery® also helped reducing paper waste by offering the level of controls that permits precise job validation, doing the right cut on every order, all the time.

 RESULTS
ProList has been using Ultimate Impostrip® and Ultimate Bindery® to automate their workflow from prepress to finishing for a year now and the results are already outstanding. They are now able to print approximately 250,000 pieces per day, the majority of which are completely personalized.

‘’The automation is a big reason why these products are so valuable. The ability to send our PDF into Ultimate Impostrip® and end up with not only a fully imposed file with crop marks and bleeds, but also a file to automatically drive our cutter has leaped frogged us ahead of our competition.’’, shared ProList’s CEO and President.

About Ultimate TechnoGraphics, Dave Lokos concludes ‘’The support we’ve received from Ultimate operating Ultimate Impostrip® and Ultimate Bindery® has been outstanding. Their team is truly dedicated to our success’’.

###

About ProList
ProList is one of the premier mail and marketing services companies in the Mid-Atlantic region. The company was born of innovation in 1989. At that time, the Postal Service was just beginning to recognize the importance of automation in mail processing. ProList was among the first companies in the nation to provide a practical means of printing barcodes on postal pieces to allow its customers to obtain discounts. Our mission today is much the same as it was then: To help our customers reach their target audiences in the most cost-effective ways possible, and through a variety of direct marketing channels.

Direct mail is still our hallmark service offering. We have continued to expand our mail production services over the years, adding the latest technologies in camera-match systems for high-touch match mailing campaigns, state of the art inserters, and, most recently, the KM1, a large format digital, ink jet press. Today, ProList is a fully integrated marketing services provider that, along with its sister company, SnailWorks™, continues to grow and deliver cutting edge solutions for the many new challenges that today’s direct marketers face. From Intelligent Mail to integrated email marketing and digital fulfillment, ProList continues to make history as the model for marketing services companies of the twenty-first century. We’re always looking for smarter, better solutions. We never stop thinking about your direct marketing.

www.prolist.com

More Less

Mar 31, 2020

PrintPapa Grows Business with Ultimate TechnoGraphics Automation

Printpapa.com is a successful online printing company founded 15 years ago in Santa Clara California, in the heart of the Silicon Valley, where they were growing with the support of the many tech startups. According to owner Shawn Nag, when they started, they saw an opportunity to create an online printing site to support customers and streamline internal processes. At the time there weren’t many online printing sites in that region, so they felt that it would resonate with the high-tech customer base and make them more competitive.

As a former software developer himself, Shawn initially built the website himself as a way to allow customers to check “the prices of the week”, but ultimately decided to add standard products to the site that they could produce in house. When the orders were placed on the new site, they found themselves having to manually collect and impose the input files to prepare them for print production. Once the site construction was complete, and the business started to take off they realized that the manual process was not going to scale and they looked for a more automated way to import, impose and process the input files.

In 2008, he came across Ultimate Impostrip® and realized that the automated workflow and hot folder support was a perfect way to solve his problem. He found that he could streamline is process by mapping each of his different products on the website to a configured and published hot folder in Ultimate Impostrip®. As he added different products to the website all he had to do was just configure and publish another hot folder to support the requirements of that product. Using an automated pipeline workflow that he implemented, he captures the imposed PDF file from Ultimate Impostrip® and directs it to the appropriate press for printing. Initially he started with about 10 products and hot folders and he now has over a thousand products and growing. One of the bigger advances for printpapa.com was the introduction of Ultimate Impostrip® AutoFlow (ganging) functionality. This has enabled them to reduce the number of hot folders by product by using AutoFlow supported hot folders based on sheet size and finishing requirements, streamlining new product setup, production and waste even further.

Automating their workflows has enabled them to go from one AB Dick single color press with a T-head printing letterheads and business cards 15 years ago, to a mix of offset, digital and large format presses producing a wide variety of products today. While the automation has made them the competitive leader locally, they have also expanded and are now competing in larger markets outside their local region with increasing success. They currently employ over 30 people locally as well as 6 people in India who do both website programming as well as production.

According to Shawn, finding and implementing Ultimate Impostrip® was “one of the most important components of their production system”.

###

About PrintPapa
Fast . Good . Cheap
That about sums up PrintPapa. Your number one source for Short Run Printing (from 10 to 10000). High quality work, low minimums & fast turnarounds are what we do best! Everything your business needs like brochures, flyers, business cards, vinyl banners, window clings, posters, signage, presentation folders, booklets & more! PrintPapa can take care of all your printing needs, just log on to PrintPapa.com and place your order online.

Our goal is to provide the best service at the best price in the fastest time and we strive daily to achieve that goal. PrintPapa has what it takes to turn a printer into your partner, and we have been doing it successfully since 2004. Through our service, quality & innovation we are able to achieve our goal of 100% customer satisfaction and retention. Fast turnaround times, the highest quality product and superior customer service keep PrintPapa a cut above the rest.

www.printpapa.com

More Less

About us

Company details

Automation drives results in printing. This is the foundation of all our software development and today, Print Service Providers worldwide benefit from increased productivity in a digital and hybrid environment. Ultimate TechnoGraphics invented digital imposition with the first release of Ultimate Impostrip® in 1989, and has continued to play a leading role in the market ever since while providing the most innovative and progressive imposition products.

Today, Ultimate is a leader in imposition and finishing automation software solutions. The company has a rich history of providing and integrating imposition technologies into hardware and software workflow solutions for print industry leaders.

More Less